Wellington

First stop was Mount Victoria Lookout after a drive along the water, where through the rain and clouds we made out Wellington, the capital of New Zealand. From there we made our way to the Travelodge our hotel for the next few nights.

c wellington (19).JPG

After a quick lunch I zigzagged my way to Cuba Street where we were told the shopping was. There was more shopping down by the Beehive (Parliament) then on Cuba Street. They even had a David Jones (but this one was the actual David Jones unlike Woolworths).

I then checked out the Beehive and its surrounding churches. After that I decided to walk along Tinakeri Road (don’t ask why, actually do) the reason for this walk was because it was marked on the map so I thought it was important! The village area had quotes along the footpath and that was the most interesting thing about the village.

c wellington (102).JPG

I checked out the fully blooming Lady Norwood Rose Garden and some of the botanic garden. I followed the signs through the botanic garden to the cable car and took the cable car back down the mountain. The Lookout around the cable car had amazing views of Wellington and by this time the sun was out so you could see.

The next day I walked along the water to Wellington’s very own man made beach known as Oriental Bay Beach. The beach was full of little kiddies enjoying the sunshine and probably the warm weather (in there terms not mine).

c wellington (78).JPG

I also caught the ferry around the harbour. The harbour was choppy so didn’t see much. The edges of the harbour were full of houses and the majority of the people on the ferry were day trippers going to Days Bay which I believe from there you can get to many historical sites like Katherine Mansfield Cottage and Pencarrow Lighthouse.

c wellington (94).JPG

I found Wellington to be a nothing sort of town. Most things shut around 5pm and the streets become deserted.

 

Apart from wanting to rest I completely get that I should have done better research for this trip and would have been able to cross off more items on my bucket list if I had done research. I did enjoy the trip though learnt a lot and saw even more.

c wellington (168).JPG

P.s. New Zealand Bound – Bucket ListTongariro National ParkSassafras Nuts,

2 thoughts on “Wellington

  1. Pingback: New Zealand Bound – Bucket List – A Pal's Corner

  2. Pingback: Sassafras Nuts – A Pal's Corner

Leave a Reply

